Malta in a Nutshell

No matter if you consider visiting Malta on vacation, moving there for a season or permanently relocating. The homeland of one of the oldest and most famous knight orders offers plenty of delightful experiences.

Malta in a Nutshell

Malta is a group of seven islands in the Mediterranean Sea. Only the three largest islands – Malta, Gozo and Comino – are inhabited. The terrain is low and rocky with coastal cliffs.

Malta, in the heart of the Mediterranean, is a melting pot of civilisations with a history stretching back thousands of years. The country has been inhabited since around 5200 BC and a significant prehistoric civilisation existed on the islands prior to the arrival of the Phoenicians who named the main island Malat, meaning safe haven. Later the islands were for centuries the seat of the Order of Knights of the Hospital of St John and then part of the British Empire. For their courage during the Second World War, Malta was awarded the George Cross. Malta became independent in 1964.

Malta joined the EU in 2004 and has been a member of the Schengen area since 2007. The capital city is Valletta and the currency is the euro.


removals to Malta



There are lots of sites where you can get information about expat clubs, news and communities. These three sites will give you a taste of what is available.

Top tip

Avoid the jellyfish. Check the wind direction each day, check out a map and find a beach sheltered from the wind.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.